Long Term Care 1915(c) Waiver Provider Orientation


State Policies & Initiatives: 
Medicaid & Employment

“1915(c) waivers allow the provision of long term care services in home and community-based settings (HCBS) under the Medicaid Program. States can offer a variety of services under an HCBS Waiver program.

Programs can provide a combination of standard medical services and non-medical services in order for persons to remain in a home or community-based setting as an alternative to nursing facility or other institutional care.

Mississippi has five HCBS 1915(c) waivers:

  • Elderly and Disabled (E&D) Waiver
  • Independent Living (IL) Waiver
  • Traumatic Brain Injury/Spinal Cord Injury (TBI/SCI) Waiver
  • Assisted Living (AL) Waiver
  • Intellectual Disabilities/Developmental Disabilities (ID/DD) Waiver”
  • Medicaid Agencies
  • Home and Community Based Services (HCBS)
Date Enacted: